Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling writer of crime fiction, published in 32 languages and 51 territories. She has also published bestselling continuation novels featuring Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot. Additionally, Sophie has published two short story collections and five collections of poetry – the fifth of which, Pessimism for Beginners, was shortlisted for the TS Eliot Award. From 1997 to 1999, she was Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College Cambridge and between 1999 and 2001 she was a fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford. She lives with her husband, children and dog in Cambridge, where she is a Fellow Commoner of Lucy Cavendish College.

Relationship history with Lucy Cavendish College:

Fellow Commoner since 2010. In 2017, Sophie Hannah sponsored and awarded the Christine Jones Memorial Prize for fiction.


2017 Did You See Melody? (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as Keep Her Safe

2016 Closed Casket (novel, HarperCollins)

2016 The Narrow Bed (novel, Hodder)

2015 A Game for All the Family (novel, Hodder)

2015 The Visitors Book (short stories, Sort Of Books)

2015 Marrying the Ugly Millionaire (poetry, Carcanet)

2014 Pictures or It Didn’t Happen (novella, QuickReads/Hodder)

Published in USA as The Warning

2014 The Monogram Murders (novel, HarperCollins)

2014 The Telling Error (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as Woman with a Secret

2013 The Carrier (novel, Hodder)

Winner of 2013 Specsavers National Book Award (Crime Thriller of the Year)

2013 The Orphan Choir (novel, Hammer)

2012 Kind of Cruel (novel, Hodder)

2012 Something Untoward: Six Tales of Domestic Terror (short stories, Hodder)

2011 Lasting Damage (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as The Other Woman’s House

2010 A Room Swept White (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as The Cradle in the Grave

2010 Translation of The Dangerous Journey by Tove Jansson (for children, Sort Of)

2009 The Other Half Lives (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as The Dead Lie Down. Filmed for television.

2008  The Point of Rescue (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as The Wrong Mother. Filmed for television.

2008 The Fantastic Book of Everybody’s Secrets (short stories, Sort Of)

2007 Hurting Distance (novel, Hodder)

Published in USA as The Truth-Teller’s Lie

2007 Pessimism For Beginners (poetry, Carcanet)

Shortlisted 2008 T.S. Eliot Award

2006 Little Face (novel, Hodder)

2006 Selected Poems (poetry, Carcanet)

2003 First of the Last Chances, (poetry, Carcanet)

2003 Translation of Who Will Comfort Toffle? by Tove Jansson (for children, Sort Of)

2002 The Superpower of Love (novel, Arrow)

2001 The Box Room: Poems for Children (for children, Orchard)

2001  Translation of The Book of Moomin, Mymble and Little My by Tove Jansson (for children, Sort Of)

2000 Cordial and Corrosive: An Unfairy Tale (novel, Arrow)

2000 Love Me Slender: Poems About Love (poetry, Carcanet)

1999 Gripless (novel, Arrow)

1999 Leaving and Leaving You (poetry, Carcanet)

1996 Hotels Like Houses (poetry, Carcanet)

1995 The Hero and the Girl Next Door (poetry, Carcanet)

1992 Carrot the Goldfish (for children, Hamish Hamilton)