Appointed Name Further Information Role
1971 Professor Eleanor Margaret Burbidge Web: Emeritus Professor, University of California, San Diego
1989 Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark Web: Queen of Denmark for over 39 years
1996 Dame Pauline Harris   Philanthropist
1998 Miss Judith Hanratty Web: Barrister and Company Director, Chairman of the Commonwealth Education Trust
1999 Professor Janet Todd Web: Seventh President of Lucy Cavendish College
  Dame Catherine Tizard Web: Governor-General of New Zealand 1990 - 1996
2001 Baroness Perry of Southwark Web: Fifth President of Lucy Cavendish College
2003 Professor Alison Richard Web: Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge
2003 Professor Dame Carol Black Web: Former President of the Royal College of Physicians, Professor of Rheumatology at the Royal Free and University College Medical School
2003 Dame Judi Dench Web: Actress
2003 Mrs Claire Tomalin Web: Journalist and Biographer
2006 Ms Anna Ford Web: Newscaster and Journalist
2006 Dame Anne Owers Web: Former HM Inspector of Prisons, Chair of Clinks
2006 Dame Stella Rimington Web: Former Director General of MI5, Author
2007 Baroness Cohen of Pimlico Web: President, BPP University College
2007 Dr Cynthia Glassman Web: Former Commissioner, US Securities and Exchange Commission
2008 Dame Veronica Sutherland   Sixth President of Lucy Cavendish College
2010 Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws Web: Barrister and an expert in human rights law, civil liberties and constitutional issues
2012 Sandi Toksvig Web: Comedienne, Author & Presenter
2014 Edwina Dunn OBE Web:

Co-founder of Dunnhumby, CEO of Starcount and leader of women's initiative What I See

2015 Jane McNeill QC Web:

Leading silk at Old Square Chambers

2015 Professor Jane Clarke


Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Senior Wellcome Trust Research Fellow in the Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge
2015 Ali Smith Web: Writer
2015 Martina Navratilova Web: Tennis champion
2016 Baroness Chakrabarti Web: Shadow Attorney General for England and Wales and former Director of Liberty
2017 Sarah Sands Web:

Journalist and Author

2018 Jackie Ashley  

Eighth President of Lucy Cavendish College

Journalist and Broadcaster

2018 Sophie Hannah Own website Crime writer, poet and judge on the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize

Professor Nirmala Rao OBE

Web: Political scientist. Vice Chancellor of the Asian University for Women (AUW)