Thank you to everyone who took part in the 2014 Prize. The standard of entries was outstanding and it was a difficult decision for the judges to make; but the five shortlisted authors were as follows:Student reading

Lilian Butterwick with 'A Silent World'

Annette Gordon with 'When I was Loved'

Joanna Merifield with 'The Second Garden'

Anni Domingo with 'Breaking the Maafa Chain'

Gail Honeyman with 'Eleanor Oliphant'

The winner was announced at a dinner on Thursday, 22 May, attended by representatives from the publishing industry hoping to sign up the literary talents of the future.