Founded in 2010, by Professor Janet Todd OBE, the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize has gone from strength to strength with many shortlisted and winning authors securing publishing deals and furthering their writing. 

The annual Fiction Prize provides a unique opportunity for unpublished female authors, aged 21 and over, to launch their literary careers. 

Judges are seeking writers who combine literary merit with ‘unputdownability’ and the Prize has developed a formidable reputation for attracting first-class writing talent.

2019 Fiction Prize 

The 2019 Fiction Prize is now closed. The longlist will be announced on 2 April and the shortlist on 26 April 2019.

Prize dinner

Shortlisted applicants will be invited to the Annual Fiction Prize dinner at Lucy Cavendish College, on the evening of Thursday 23 May 2019.

This annual occasion has been instrumental in introducing previous winners, Catherine Chanter (2013) and Joanna Merifield (2014), as well as short-listed entrants Leslie Sanderson (2017), Anni Domingo (2014), Gail Honeyman (2014) and Annette Gordon (2014) to their respective agents, and allows attendees to mingle with industry specialists.

Free consultation with literary agent

All shortlisted entrants receive a valuable half-hour one-to-one consultation, with our competition sponsors PFD, who will give editorial feedback and discuss the marketability of the work submitted. In addition, the 2019 winner will receive a cash prize of £1,500.

We wish all entrants the best of luck.

In this section

Laura Marshall, Shortlisted Author 2016

promo img

"I will always be grateful to the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize, as it was really the first step on the road to everything that has happened since" Laura Marshall, shortlisted 2016

More about the Prize