A warm welcome (or welcome back)

by Cherish Watton on 13 October 2016

A warm welcome to all new and returning blog visitors. October is upon us, which can only mean one thing - the start of the Michaelmas term. The long vacation, like last year, has passed by very quickly!

Last summer, I spent much of the time in the eighteenth-century household of Parson James Woodforde, researching the role of his niece, Nancy in Weston Parsonage. This summer, I have been exploring the work of women in the forests during the Second World War, principally the Lumber Jills. The Women’s Timber Corps was an offshoot organisation of the Women’s Land Army, and worked towards increasing the home production of timber, owing to a shortage of imports from Norway. It’s been very interesting to research the work of these women in much greater depth. I’ve enjoyed getting to grips with studying photographs as sources and exploring more about material culture.

A new year and we are recruiting members for the Cavendish Chorale. We are sorry to lose our previous choir director, Susie Self, who is now undertaking a PhD in composition at the Birmingham Conservatoire. We are very lucky to welcome Chloe Allison who is taking over the reins. Chloe is currently studying for an MPhil in Musicology at Selwyn College. We very much look forward to welcoming some new members to our community choir, open to Lucy students, as well as female students at other colleges.For more information or to arrange an informal audition, please email the President, Jennifer Lo at: jl892@cam.ac.uk

Starting at Lucy, and at Cambridge, is both exciting, challenging and nerve-racking. Nothing can quite prepare you for the Cambridge experience. But rest assured, everything will feel that bit more normal by Week 3...if not before….

Wishing everyone a great start to the year!

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Aline Maalouf

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Bethany Howarth & Ida Svenonius

Bonnie Samuyiwa

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Cat Darsley

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Christine Pungong

Clarissa Hjalmarsson

Dame Anne Owers

Disha Patel

Donna Baillie

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Jo Johnson

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Sarah Morgan

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Forbes

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Emma Sims

Eva Simmons

Florence Hazrat

Gem Duncan

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Good

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jenny Ridge

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Kathryn Handley

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Marion Beauchamp

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Novriana Sumarti

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Priya Lele

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Sheila Russell

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Sylvia Lynn-Meaden

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tim Arnold

Tom Hawker-Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang