Children’s Literature Formal Hall

by Jen Aggleton on 25 January 2017

Last week the Lucy Cavendish Children's Literature Society held a Formal Hall around the theme of food in Children's Literature. We had a good turn out, with 37 attending the talk and about 90 at the meal. Three distinguished scholars spoke about food in children's literature from three very different perspectives; Dr. Dawn Sardella-Ayres, Sarah Layzell-Hardstaff and Amy Webster. 

Formal Hall featured a children's literature themed menu, and nine differently themed tables, each based on a classic children's book.

Speaker Sarah Layzell Hardstaff said:

"It was a great opportunity to present my research to a wider audience and discuss issues around food across disciplines, for example, making connections between children's literature and nutrition policy."

Our next event is now open for bookings. It is called 'The Art of the Children's Book' and will be held on 20 February 2017. We will be hearing from two distinguished speakers; Children's Literature scholar Dr. Zoe Jaques from the University of Cambridge, and Pam Smy, professional illustrator and senior lecturer at Anglia Ruskin University.

In addition to these talks, there will be a chance to view an exhibition of work by students from the prestigious MA in Children's Book Illustration at Anglia Ruskin University. Please find out more here.


In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang