City of Cambridge: Winter Head to Head

by Jessica Phillips on 31 January 2015

Daunting beginnings

On Saturday 24th January, City of Cambridge Rowing Club held their annual Winter Head to Head event. This event consists of a 2 kilometre course from the railway bridge to the motorway bridge that has to be completed twice; a daunting prospect with it being the first race after a long Christmas break and being in a higher division than we competed in last year.

We set off on the first 2k chasing Jesus’ W2 with the stream in our favour. Through the first kilometre we were gaining on them and managed to close the gap between us to about four boat lengths with some encouraging calls from our coach, Hannah Spry, and cox, Gemma Schofield. However, Jesus managed a last minute surge and finished the first leg 4 seconds faster than our, still impressive, time of exactly 8 minutes.

A powerful return

After spinning, we were thinking about attacking the course for the second time. This time the stream and the wind would be against us, but it was also the race homewards and we knew it was the last chance to give it everything we had. Again, we had JCBC in our sights; this time we wanted to catch them! We set off and quickly flowed through the corners, with Gemma keeping an excellent line we were powering the boat on towards the reach, losing sight of Trinity First and Third W2 behind us. On the reach the wind hit us and we had to sit up against it, keep our catches sharp and squaring early.

We approached the finish with Gemma calling for powerful strokes to carry us across the finish line. We completed the second leg in 8 minutes 34, beating Jesus by 4 seconds, the same amount they had previously beaten us by. This meant that at the end of our division, we were joint first with an overall time of 16.34. We just had to wait for the results of 5 boats in division 4 to come in before we knew where we had come overall.

A nervous wait brings rewards

After a long afternoon waiting for the rest of the times to come in, we were finally delighted by the news that none of the 5 crews had beaten our time and we had won Pots. We had beaten Fitzwilliam W1 (who came second) by 12 seconds, and we’d also achieved a faster time than a number of crews in the division above ours such as Clare W1, Caius W1 and Lady Margaret W1.

I hope to have more fantastic news over the rest of the term, with a few more races to go before the highly anticipated Lent Bumps we’ve had an encouraging start to the term. 

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang