Elizabeth von Arnim Society launches new website

by Dr Isobel Maddison on 17 December 2015

Elizabeth Von ArnimLucy Cavendish College was host to the first academic conference on the writing of Elizabeth von Arnim on 13 September 2015. Organised by Jennifer Walker, Erica Brown and Fellow of Lucy Cavendish College, Dr Isobel Maddison, the conference drew an international crowd of academics and enthusiasts as well as Gayle Richardson – the keeper of the Countess Russell archive at the Huntington Library, California.

Since then the activity generated by the conference has been seemingly unstoppable. Noreen O’Connor, an academic from the US, has worked tirelessly (with the help of others who attended the conference) to build a website in support of the newly established Elizabeth von Arnim Society. With sections on von Arnim’s biography, ‘News’, a growing bibliography, information reflecting cross cultural interest and plans for future events and publications, the Society is already attracting a good deal of interest and e-mail traffic. YouTube clips, photographs, music and other material related to von Arnim and her writing is arriving daily. 

All those involved in researching von Arnim are thrilled with this new and exciting resource; it will be invaluable in supporting fresh insights and publications on her writing. Those who are enthusiasts will find much to interest them on the Society website. We hope many new members will join us so that, collectively, we help raise the profile of this fascinating author and her work.

Visit: Elizabeth von Arnim Society

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang