Explore the basement of the Library - a place to study and relax

by Tianqi Dong on 14 November 2016

This summer has seen the completed refurbishment of our library, which has been tailored to suit modern user requirements and in response to student feedback. Alongside traditional learning resources, the basement of our library is designed to enhance the accessibility of learning and relaxing and beyond including a Library Lounge and a presentation room. The new Group Study Room offers modern presentation facilities for 20 people or more. This provides an optional place for society meetings as well as presentation preparations.  















The Nordic-style interior design at the main entrance adds elegant, bright and modern elements into the students relaxing space, which is well matched with our new student bar. The old sofas in Paul Paget room were moved and recovered in the basement Library Lounge. The Library Lounge has been decorated with award-winning photography and a fashionable magazine basket. The more comfortable and safer environment gives students more opportunity for endless conversation and discussion. Beyond that, we can always put our suggestions on the Flipchart Pad next to a “keen listening” giraffe, Esmerelda. The TV is now set up to view free digital and catch up TV, including Amazon Video (watch the College Message Board for further details) and we are going to experience the happiest times inside the Library ever!

Thanks again to our Library committee, Librarian Celine Carty, Jo Harcus, Alison Vinnicombe, Dr Leigh Stoeber and Dr Helen Roche for all their kind considerations to improve our students’ experiences in the library.  

Written by Tianqi Dong, Students' Union Library Representative. To contact Tianqi with any further feedback or suggestions for the Library please email her at: td307@cam.ac.uk

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang