Four crews compete at Pembroke Regatta for HHLCCBC

by Poly Frangou, Women's Captain on 23 February 2017

Brilliant performance by the boat club last weekend at Pembroke Regatta! HHLCCBC Women were represented for the first time by four crews that made a great impression before Bumps.

W4 had a tough first race against Churchill W2, who won the division. They were right on their stern the whole way, which was a great achievement! On their second race they easily beat Pembroke W3, making their coaches very proud.








Photos: The W4 crew after their races and W4 ahead of Pembroke W3.

W3 started by beating Jesus W3 in what was a great race, including technical rowing and some really strong pushes! They went on against Clare W3 and although they were with them for most of it, Clare pulled away in the end. A good practice for the getting-on-race coming up this Friday!


Photo: The W3 crew after their races.


W2 had a difficult first round against Newnham W2, who won the division far ahead of everyone they came across. The girls rowed strong against them, having brought the nice race-feeling of Bedford into their rowing! Unfortunately Newnham pulled away, but W2 is now sharpening up for Bumps and nothing can get in their way!

W1 started off lightly in the first round, rowing the course alone, as Downing W1 scratched. They faced Selwyn W1 in the next round, winning easily with a nice strong rate. Next was Christ's who pushed our crew the whole way, but was left a length behind in the last few hundred meters. In the final, our W1 faced Newnham W1 who started pulling away from the start but were chased with determination until the end by our crew, putting the club in the table of runner-ups!

Congratulations to everyone for the amazing effort and results! Bring on Bumps!

Last photos: W1 ahead of Christ's WW and W1 beating Selwyn W1 

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang