HHLCCBC women are ready for May Bumps!

by Poly Frangou, Women's Captain on 8 June 2017

Everyone’s favourite term for rowing is nearly over, but not before May Bumps take place next week (14-17/6)! Our club’s women are entering three crews for a second year in a row, giving 27 women the opportunity to experience this special event that dates back to 1827.

W1 has had a strong term, with Blue Boat rower Myriam Goudet returning to row with college. The crew won their division in both Champs 8s Head and X-Press Head, following the tradition of previous years. You can watch their races in Division 2, at 17:30 on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and at 15:30 on the Saturday of Bumps. 

Image on the right: W1 won their division at Champs 8s Head, and below: W1 at the start of X-Press Head.

W2 has been training hard both on and off the water, increasing their fitness and rowing expertise. They left the best impressions at Champs 8s where they came 4th, very few seconds behind the first three crews.  You can cheer them on in Division 3, at 16:00 on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and at 14:00 on the Saturday of Bumps.

Image below: W2 at the start of Champs 8s.

W3 has had a brilliant term, showing massive improvements as a crew, being coached by alumna Abbey Child. They had a good run at 99s Spring Regatta, where they had a chance to practice side by side rowing and will be racing in Division 4, 14:30 on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday and at 12:30 on the Saturday of Bumps.

Image below left: W3 in training.

Come and support the crews next week – your cheers give us the extra power we need to bump up! As always, you can follow our daily updates on our Facebook page here.

Poly Frangou, LCCBC Captain

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang