Hosting a workshop on developing children’s literature collections

by Jessica Lim on 5 September 2017

On Wednesday 30 August the Lucy Cavendish College Library hosted a workshop on developing children’s literature collections, attended by fifteen students from the University of Washington. The event was co-ordinated by co-president of the Children’s Literature Society, Jen Aggleton and Library and Information Services Officer, Jo Harcus. Over the course of the afternoon, three sessions examined different aspects of collection building. Between sessions, participants spent time in the foyer, examining the exhibition of books from the Founder’s Collection curated by Gill Saxon, and browsing the growing children’s literature collection. Many exciting and excited conversations were held in these breaks - the growing children’s literature collection in particular proved popular! 

In the first session, Jen brought in several pop-up books, to the excitement of all the participants. We discussed the benefits and difficulties associated with pop-up collections, and discussed why the College vision of building a research collection of pop-ups is an innovative and exciting prospect in the UK.

For the following session Jen presented on her current work at the British Library, where she is setting up procedures to preserve digital comics and creating a special web archive collection of web comics. The discussions centred around the technological requirements for digital preservation, as well as the sociological impact of the archive.  The afternoon closed with a set of group activities in which participants were encouraged to brainstorm the pros and cons of involving children in building children’s literature collections in schools, public libraries, academic libraries, and archives. The students from the University of Washington, accompanied by Professor Michele Martin, were all highly engaged - the workshop went overtime due to the many questions!

Feedback from the workshop has been extraordinarily positive, and the Children’s Literature Society extends its thanks to the Lucy Cavendish librarians for hosting and facilitating such a dynamic workshop. To find out more about the Children's Literature Society, please click here.

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang