Let’s get ‘Naked’ - Elizabeth Lowe on the launch of her ‘no nasties’ e-commerce store

by Flavia Bartoletti on 18 November 2019

College alumna, Elizabeth Lowe (Pharmacology, 2010) founded Naked Company, an e-commerce store that specializes in everyday cosmetics without nasty ingredients.

After her studies, Elizabeth has been working for several years in the pharmaceutical R&D sector. She became interested in the composition of everyday cosmetics and became particularly concerned about the ingredients and excessive packaging of toothpaste.

Elizabeth said:

“Toothpaste tends to be one of those products we toss into the shopping cart on the way to the checkout without further thought. Understandably, this is a hygiene product used by most of us on a daily basis.

Out of curiosity, I started researching the ingredients of toothpaste. As well as active ingredients to prevent dental caries, commercially available toothpastes contain a vast array of chemicals that attribute to its physical properties, including foaming and stabilizing agents. Some of these have been classified as potentially cancer causing by the International Agency for Research on Cancer. 

I felt that although the EU cosmetic regulation requires manufacturers to publish their ingredients, there is a lack of intelligible information in the public domain on the additives in dentifrices. Based on this, I decided to launch Naked Company. The heart of our ethos is to “Take the Nasties Out” and to reduce packaging waste. So far, we have launched a healthier and eco-friendly alternative to toothpaste, Dental Crush toothpaste tablets. 

The response has been great. We launched our website in September this year and are now stocking our products in stores in Ireland. It has been a steep learning curve. I am happy to say that another Lucy alumna, Ellie Brown was able to provide guidance having launched her own startup, Kinda Co.

I am excited to see what the new year brings.

Read more about Elizabeth’s products at www.naked-company.com.

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Aline Maalouf

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Bethany Howarth & Ida Svenonius

Bonnie Samuyiwa

Caitlin Law

Carol Atack

Caroline Egleston

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Cat Darsley

Catherine Palmer

Cecilia Wong

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Christine Pungong

Clarissa Hjalmarsson

Connie Buettner

Dame Anne Owers

Disha Patel

Donna Baillie

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Jo Johnson

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Nicola Rose

Dr Sarah Morgan

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Forbes

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Ellie Brown

Emma Sims

Eva Simmons

Flavia Bartoletti

Florence Hazrat

Gem Duncan

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Good

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Glyn Maxwell

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jenny Ridge

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Joanne Limburg

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Kathryn Handley

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Madeleine Kasson

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Marion Beauchamp

Marta Tomaselli

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Nenette Scrivener

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Novriana Sumarti

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Priya Lele

Raisa Ostapenko

Richard Berengarten

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Sheila Russell

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Sylvia Lynn-Meaden

Tamara Micner

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tim Arnold

Tom Hawker-Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang