Alumni Festival 2019 at Lucy: Alumnae Association AGM, Community Drinks and Annual Dinner

by Judith Roberts on 2 October 2019

On Saturday 28th September the Alumnae Association met for its Annual General Meeting, drinks reception and dinner. It was very pleasing to see so many alums at the evening’s events, more than ever before, and for many who were there it was an opportunity to catch up with friends and colleagues from the past, while enjoying a relaxed meal. Alumnae at drinks reception in the Nautilus cafe

The College President Madeleine Atkins addressed the AGM, where she outlined some exciting future plans for the College, to include the development of the Lady Margaret Road site. The President also informed the meeting of an increasing number of initiatives and partnerships with organisations and businesses both inside and outside the University, all of which will help to support our graduate and undergraduate students – and to raise much-needed finance for future development.

After various members of the committee had presented their reports on the previous year’s activities, elections were held for new officers to lead the Association into the coming year. The following alumnae were elected: President – Catherine Quinn (English, 2012); Secretary - Kate McCombe (History, 2011); Treasurer – Dr Eiko Yoneki (Computer Science, 2001).

The Alumnae Association committee for the coming year will comprise most of the previous members and a goodly number of new participants. We all look forward to working together with these colleagues on our newly-enlarged committee, which will seek to bring a programme of events and initiatives to our alumnae in the coming year.

After the meeting, we all enjoyed a drinks reception in the Nautilus cafe, with music provided by two very talented alumnae, Noemie Johns (Medical & Veterinary Sciences, 2013) and Emily Slade (Creative Writing, 2013).

                                                          Noemi Johns singingEmily Slade playing guitar

The Annual Alumnae Dinner was a splendid affair this year, with over one hundred diners enjoying a delicious meal of salad with blue cheese, sea-bass and the most delectable rhubarb and ginger cheesecake. After-dinner chocolates were provided by Nenette Scrivener (Economics, 1992), whose article about her business is featured in this Nautilus. Our thanks to her, the chefs and the kitchen staff for providing us with such a feast.

Please keep in touch by coming to our events, and letting us know if you’d like to contribute actively, for instance by joining the committee, writing for Nautilus, or as a contributor to the exciting Lucy Writers’ Platform (link via the College website).

We look forward to seeing even more of our alumnae at next year’s AGM and dinner, always on the last Saturday in September.

Judith Roberts, 2019

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Aline Maalouf

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Bethany Howarth & Ida Svenonius

Bonnie Samuyiwa

Carol Atack

Caroline Egleston

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Cat Darsley

Catherine Palmer

Cecilia Wong

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Christine Pungong

Clarissa Hjalmarsson

Connie Buettner

Dame Anne Owers

Disha Patel

Donna Baillie

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Jo Johnson

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Nicola Rose

Dr Sarah Morgan

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Forbes

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Ellie Brown

Emma Sims

Eva Simmons

Florence Hazrat

Gem Duncan

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Good

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Glyn Maxwell

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jenny Ridge

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Joanne Limburg

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Kathryn Handley

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Madeleine Kasson

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Marion Beauchamp

Marta Tomaselli

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Nenette Scrivener

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Novriana Sumarti

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Priya Lele

Raisa Ostapenko

Richard Berengarten

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Sheila Russell

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Sylvia Lynn-Meaden

Tamara Micner

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tim Arnold

Tom Hawker-Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang