Newnham Short Course - 31st January 2015

by Jessica Phillips on 5 February 2015

It was the third Saturday of Lent term which meant that it was time for the annual Newnham Short Course race; a 2km course from the Motorway bridge to the Railway bridge, the same as the Bumps course. 

This time it was W2’s turn to compete against the other college teams and demonstrate how good Lucy/Hughes is on the river in their first race as seniors. The weather was not in anyone's favour and, although the snow had finally stopped after the morning’s divisions, the girls would have to battle against strong gusty winds and freezing temperatures. The stream was also extremely strong with boat after boat being swept into the bank during marshalling. But as the first crew pushed off at the lock, it was time to focus and attack the looming 2km course.

Churchill’s W2 set off in front of us and, after leaving a larger than usual time gap between us and them, our girls were given the command “Attention… GO!”. The first part of the course, consisting of testing corners, was steered brilliantly by cox Sally Mole in difficult conditions. By Grassy corner we, on the bank, caught sight of Churchill ahead and we knew the girls would be able to chase them down. The girls were powering down the course, catching on Churchill with every sharp catch and powerful stroke. As we got onto the reach Lucy/Hughes had closed the gap to only four boat lengths and the finish line was in sight. Sally called for a power 10 to carry them down the reach and then another to push them over the finish line.

The girls put in a really strong performance and completed the course in an impressive time of 9 minutes 20 seconds, coming 6th out of the W2 boats and beating Catz W2, First and Third W2 and Downing W2. Well done to the whole team and I’m sure we can look forward to many more sterling performances from them throughout the term. 

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang