Our President sees the Cam in style

by April Bowman on 27 October 2016

The HHLCC Boat Club has had a huge response to our campaign advertising for new rowers, including interest from College President Jackie Ashley who was willing to give rowing a go for the first time. She was joined by new Fellow, Admissions Tutor Victoria Harvey with her 10-year-old daughter, Isabella.

Our Fellows joined the novice taster session on Saturday 8 October and spent an hour on the river learning the basic strokes and calls. Initial anxiety melted away and pure joy took over as they discovered the exhilaration of working as a team in the boat.

Jackie said: "I hugely enjoyed my outing, though rowing is much harder than it looks. I now appreciate how much effort and determination goes into making it look so smooth. I'm very keen to get back on the river, and to encourage other Fellows as well, but I'm not sure that 5 early morning sessions a week are quite what I have in mind."

The joint rowing club took over 60 novices out from both Lucy Cavendish and Hughes Hall over the course of the weekend, and held a barbeque to welcome them in style. The novices showed lots of enthusiasm despite somewhat damp weather. The great turn out and spirit shown so far bodes really well for an exciting season ahead. Our boats are now full and we are looking forward to our first event for the novices on 13 November. It is called the Emma Sprints, and we’d love to see lots of College supporters out on the banks to cheer us on!

Photo left to right: Maria Schaker, Abbey Child, April Bowman, Jackie Ashley, Isabella Harvey (aged 10), Victoria Harvey, Lea Christopher (novice), Georgina Anderson, Annabel Martinez, Joanna Walker

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang