The Art of the Children’s Book event is a sell-out success

by Jen Aggleton on 22 February 2017

On Monday 20 February, the Lucy Cavendish Children's Literature Society hosted a public evening on 'The Art of the Children's Book'.

We heard from Zoe Jaques of the Faculty of Education, who spoke about how illustrations have morphed the character of Alice in Alice in Wonderland from an innocent child into a dark creation, and in particular the influence of illustrator Arthur Rackham on Alice's changing face. 

Pam Smy (pictured right), illustrator and senior lecturer at the Cambridge School of Art, then spoke about the process of creating her new novel, Thornhill (to be released in August), and showed us the importance of observational drawings to the creative illustrative process.

Elena Gestoso, a student on the MA in Children's Book Illustration at Cambridge School of Art, organised a fantastic exhibition, featuring work by fellow MA students Paula White, Sandy Horsley, Margaret Sturton, Lele Saa, Victoria Cassanell and Louise Warwick. We had a fantastic turnout, with nearly 60 people in attendance, many of whom had never attended a university event before, and raised over £150 for the children's fiction collection in the Library.


In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang