Women’s Eights Head of the River Race 2015 - W1

by Jessica Phillips on 18 March 2015

On Saturday 15th March, the 75th Women’s Eights Head of the River Race (WEHoRR) took place on the Tideway of the River Thames from Mortlake to Putney. The course is the same 6.8km or 4 and a quarter mile Championship Course of the Thames that has been made famous by  the Oxford and Cambridge Boat Race (although they race it the other way around from Putney to Mortlake).

Approximately 300 crews from around the country (and even some international crews) took part in WEHoRR including a Team GB composite crew including olympic medal winners Katherine Grainger, Heather Stanning and Helen Glover.

For many of us in W1, it was our first time on the Tideway, so our first experience of possibly choppy waters and waves, but boating from Sons of the Thames gave us time to adapt to the river conditions while rowing to the start line. This eased our nerves and put us in a positive mind-set prior to the race.

We had a powerful start and settled at a controlled rate of 32 and for the first kilometre or so the weather was kind to us and conditions were fairly calm. After holding off Worcester RC they began to overtake us but for the entirety of the race we never let them get too far away. There were no other boats in sight behind us, so we had managed to push away from the crews behind. There were parts of the course where there were very strong winds and the water became a little choppy but the team pushed through it, with motivating calls from cox Gemma, and focused on each stroke pushing us closer to the finish line. Gemma had set out and executed a detailed race plan and steered brilliantly throughout the whole course. 

We completed the race in a time of 23 minutes and 16 seconds placing us 147th and in the top half of the 300 crews that entered. We were the 6th fastest Cambridge College at WEHoRR beating Sidney Sussex, Churchill, Caius, King’s, and Catz.

Rowing on the tideway was a great experience for the whole crew. We and our coach, Hannah Spry, were all really happy with our performance and the result. We look forward to seeing what results we can achieve in the races during Easter term.

In this section

Blog Authors

Agata Kurczynska

Alexandra Alridge

Alice Middleton

Alison Russell

Anna Svegborn

Anna Wong

Annalisa Occhipinti, PhD Student Computer Science

Annika Brouwer

Anthea Bain

April Bowman

Ateka Tarajia

Barbara Bollig

Barbara Wittman

Bea Aldrich

Carol Atack

Caroline Sier

Caroline Vinall

Catherine Palmer

Charlotte Fiehn

Cherish Watton

Dame Anne Owers

Dorothy Heeneman

Dr Angela Morecroft

Dr Barbara Wittman

Dr Bryanna Fox

Dr Emanuela Orlando

Dr Henriette Hendriks and Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Isobel Maddison

Dr Louise Foxcroft

Dr Yvonne Zivkovic

Elinor George, LCCBC President

Elizabeth Jurd

Ellen Gage

Ellen Verde

Eva Simmons

Gemma Maitland

Georgia Hume

Gill Heyworth

Hannah Hutchings-Georgiou

Helen Gibson

Hollie Wells

Ingrid Dixon

Isabel Clare

Jean Cosslett

Jeanette Ariano, Marketing Manager

Jen Aggleton

Jennifer Ellis

Jessica Henry

Jessica Lim

Jessica Phillips

Jessie Ingle

Jillinda Tiley

Jo Harcus

Joanna Walker

Jothi Reddy

Joy Haughton

Judith Roberts

Julia Hayes

Julia Nielsen

Kate Coghlan

Katerina Georgopoulou

Ketaki Patel

Kyaelim Kwon

Laura Shepperson-Smith

Laura Tan

Leona Awoyele

Lindsay Malone

Lizzie Moore

Lottie Greenhaf

Lucia Linares

Mara González Souto

Marianna Kopsida

Mathilde Whitburn

Michelle Baikie

Molly Yarn

Myriam Goudet

Ning Sang Jessica Tan

Patricia Vazquez Rodriguez

Poly Frangou, Women's Captain

Raisa Ostapenko

Ruth Haynes

Salma Elnagar

Sarah Godlee

Sheelagh Drudy

Shoko Hirosue

Sofia Maroudia

Stephanie Ma

Sulema Jahangir

Susy Jepson

Suzanne Tonkin

Tanya Brown

Teresa Ma

Tianqi Dong

Tilda Bowden

Tom Dawson

Wai Wan (Vivian) SZE-TO

Wendy Pollard

Yun Chiang