College Prizes awarded in special Formal Hall 2018

12 February 2018

Alumnae, Fellows, donors, students and staff gathered on Thursday 8 February 2018 to celebrate student achievements and the generosity of the donors who support them through College Prizes.

College President Jackie Ashley said:

“The Student Achievement Formal Hall is a great opportunity for us to celebrate all the hard work that takes place over the year. We are incredibly proud of the academic achievements of our students, and also very grateful for the generosity of our alumnae and supporters who make it possible for us to reward them every year.”

In addition to the College Prizes, we also announced the winners of a new enterprise competition sponsored by Santander. See below for the winners.


Madeleine Jörgensen Prize for First Class Results in Tripos

Alice Carlill* (English), Caitlin Harris* (English), Joelle Ng (Land Economy), Kimberley Searle* (English)

Marie Lawrence Prize(s) for First Class Results in Tripos

Sofia Akerhielm (Law), Madeline Chan* (Law), Chloe Gamlin* (Natural Sciences), Yike Gao* (Economics), Isabelle Higgins (Human, Social & Political Sciences), Aphiwan King* (Law), Linnea Lagerqvist (Human, Social & Political Sciences), Jodie Manners* (Human, Social & Political Sciences), Meredith Phillips (Law), Adela Ryle* (Human, Social & Political Sciences), Harriet Rhodes (Medical & Veterinary Sciences), Ida Svenonius (Human, Social & Political Sciences), Josefina Weinerova (Psychological & Behavioural Sciences), Melissa Wilson (Law, pictured right)

The Simms Prize for best results in Education

Joy Giannaros, Chelsea Ljutic

The Berti Sapir Medical Prize for the student with the best results in Clinical Stage Three (Final year)

Amy Whitehouse

Kate Bertram Prize(s) for First Class Results in non-Tripos exams

Mariam Arutyunyan (Economic Research), Katie Barton (Creative Writing), Marta Beneda (Social & Developmental Psychology), Connie Bloomfield (Comparative European Literatures & Cultures), Ge Cheng (Mathematics), Lea Christopher* (LLM), Charlotte Dugdale (Creative Writing), Anais Le Moing (Economics), Eva Milne* (LLM), Eva Politou (Mathematics), Maria Sisak (Mathematics), Rui Zhang (Advanced Computer Science)

The Alumnae Association Prize for Contribution to the Arts

Jennifer Lo*, Molly Yarn

The Alumnae Association Prize for Graduate Excellence

Julia Hayes (Education)

The Annabelle Dixon Prize for the student who has made the most of her time at Lucy Cavendish

April Bowman (pictured right)

The Emmeline Pankhurst Prize for Contribution to College Life

Jessica Lim, Cherish Watton*

The Myson College Exhibition for Personal Achievement

Chloe Gamlin*, Emma Walter*

Dame Veronica Sutherland College Prize(s) for Sporting Blues

Esther Delignat-Lavaud-Rodriguez (Fencing), Lara Gibson (Rugby, pictured left), Myriam Goudet (Rowing), Ollie Linnea Gradin (Football), Olivia Jamrog (Rowing), Alice Middleton (Rugby), Melissa Wilson (Rowing)

Gyll Moore Prize for a Student Gaining a First Class Degree, preferably in Arts or Humanities

Cherish Watton* (History)

The Florence Staniforth Prize for Excellence in Creative Writing

Charlotte Fiehn (pictured bottom right)

The Margaret Spufford Memorial Prize

Anne Sauviat (Sociology)

Janet Todd Prize for Academic Excellence

Eleanor Powers (Public Health)

Mary Wollstonecraft Prize

Ainul Hanafiah

Photos of all award winners will be available in the next two weeks


Santander Enterprise Competition

FIRST PLACE - Sioned Davies 

SECOND PLACE - Suzanne Girault & Genevieve Riccoboni

THIRD PLACE - Laura C McClintock

The winners will receive respective prizes of £750, £500 and £250.

The winning entry can be watched here.


*  Graduands who were awarded their prize in June 2017

< Back to News