Longlist announced for Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize 2018

9 April 2018

Lucy Cavendish College, part of the University of Cambridge, has published a longlist for its annual Fiction Prize. The 2018 Fiction Prize longlist reflects the variety and wealth of literary talent amongst unpublished female writers aged 21 and over.

The 2018 Longlist

  • Deepa Anappara - Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line
  • Deborah Bailey - Until Guilty
  • Nicola Curtis - The Thomas More Mystery
  • Min Day - Love Letters
  • Grace Dean - Every Dark Thing 
  • Christina Demosthenous - Gone Viral
  • Angela Dove - For One Night Only
  • Carol Farrelly - This Starling Flock
  • Josephine Ferguson - The Taste of a Secret
  • Emily Ruth Ford - Elinor Snow
  • S.E Harper - Black Flowers Blossom
  • Sarah Linley - The Web We Weave
  • Gràinne Murphy - Where the Edge Is
  • Emma Rhind-Tutt - Separation
  • Victoria Richards - The Furies
  • Poppy Sebag-Montefiore​ - Listeners
  • Ruby Speechley - Bye Bye Baby
  • Andrea Stephenson - The Wintering Place
  • Lauren Van Schaik - Joplin
  • Alison Weeks - Out of the Red Earth
  • Sula Windgassen - The Dark Beneath the Stars

A total of 389 entries were received for the 2018 Fiction Prize. The aspiring authors selected for the 2018 longlist now face a tense wait as the judging panel agree a final shortlist of five authors, to be announced on Thursday 26 April 2018

The 2018 judging panel welcomed author Nicci Gerrard, journalist Eleanor Mills, editor Gina Dawson and literary agent Marilia Savvides from sponsor Peters Fraser & Dunlop. Returning judges include Dr Ian Patterson a poet, translator, writer and Fellow in English at Queens' College Cambridge, editor and ghost-writer, Gillian Stern and Lucy Cavendish College Fellow, Dr Lindsey Traub.

Now in its eighth year, the Fiction Prize has developed a formidable reputation for uncovering new talent and draws significant interest from the publishing industry. It has been a catalyst for numerous literary careers.

Previous entrants include 2013 winner Catherine Chanter whose debut The Well (Canongate) became a Richard and Judy Book Club pick with TV rights having been optioned by a major US studio. Gail Honeyman, a finalist in 2014, was winner of the 2018 Costa Debut Novel Award for Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine (HarperCollins). Laura Marshall was shortlisted in 2016 for her debut novel Friend Request, recently listed in the Sunday Times’ Top 10 Bestsellers list. Frances Maynard was also shortlisted in 2016 and has since published The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr. Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott’s Swan Song was shortlisted in 2015 before being acquired by Hutchinson last October in a six-figure pre-empt and will be published in the UK this summer.

The 2018 winner will be announced on Thursday 24 May by College President Jackie Ashley, who said:

“I'm delighted we have found such literary talent for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize. The judges will have a hard task choosing the shortlist and ultimately the winner.”

It was announced last year that Peters Fraser & Dunlop will continue its sponsorship of the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize until 2020.

 - ENDS -

About Lucy Cavendish

Lucy Cavendish is the only women's college in Europe exclusively for students aged 21 or over, and a unique part of the University of Cambridge. Its undergraduate and postgraduate students come from over sixty countries, and a wide variety of educational and professional backgrounds. Many have changed careers or overcome significant challenges in order to reach University. The College is particularly strong in Medicine, Law, Veterinary Medicine, Psychology, the Social Sciences and English.

< Back to News